The Snowflake Lobos had three players selected to the Arizona Interscholastic Association’s 2020 All-3A Volleyball First Team, including two Lobos who brought home top region player-of-the-year awards.

Taking the East’s top award is Snowflake senior middle blocker Reagan Olson, who was selected 3A East Player of the Year. Junior outside hitter Macee LeSueur was selected as 3A East Offensive Player of the Year.

Rylee Wengert, the Lobos’ junior libero, is a first-team, all-region selection.

Olson is also a first-team, all-state selection. LeSueur is a second-teamer on the all-state teams. Senior Anna Berger is an honorable mention all-state selection. The awards were selected by Division 3A coaches following the fall season.

Olson led the Lobos and ranked No. 4 in 3A in kills with 234 (4.0 kills per set) and she also led the team with 163 digs. She also led Snowflake with 41 service aces, ranking in the top 10 in the state this season.

LeSueur ranked second on the team and among the top 15 in the state in kills with 159 (3.5/set).

Wengert led the Lobos in serve receiving and she was second on the team in digs (157).

Berger, a NCAA Div. I softball signee and a second-team all-region selection, led Snowflake in blocks this season.

Other Lobos selected to the second team are: senior Marynda Caldwell, senior setter Ellie Lundberg and junior setter/defensive specialist Kimberlee Eich.

Eich led the Lobos with 228 assists this season. Lundberg was second in assists with 200.

Led by six seniors and four juniors, the 2020 Lobos, under first-year head coach Karen Hargrove, finished the season with a trip to the state playoff semifinals and to 3A’s second best won-lost record at the end of the year. That record included an undefeated, 10-0 record in the East region, never losing a set against region opponents to win the championship.

Others selected first-team, all 3A East, are: Amanda Carlson and Ariela Santana of Blue Ridge, and Payson’s Alex Hagan and the region’s defensive player of the year, Kylee Carnes.

Carlson is also an honorable mention, all-state selection.

Other second-team all-region selections are Cheyenne Higgins of Blue Ridge, Addie Clark of Show Low, and Kristin Wagner of Winslow.

Winslow head coach Julie Thomas was selected 3A East Coach of the Year.

3A state champion Phoenix Northwest Christian swept three of the top four spots on the all-state teams. Reagan Hope was named as the 3A Player of the Year, Molly Kipp was selected as the 3A Offensive Player of the Year and head coach Jenna Hope was selected as Coach of the Year.

Macy McClain of state runner-up Chandler Valley Christian is the division’s defensive player of the year.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.